Technical Guide for BTFS Node - Node Scoring System

A decentralized node scoring system serves as a benchmark for evaluating the reliability of BTFS network nodes. With the launch of BTFS v.2.2.1, the BTFS protocol has updated its node scoring system to be more decentralized.

All nodes fall into three levels according to their scores: Good, Average, and Poor. And they are evaluated against the following four criteria:

  1. Uptime: the length of time when a node is online;
  2. Age: the duration for which a node has been on BTFS;
  3. Version: current version of the node;
  4. Active: the activity level (interaction with the contracts) of the node;

The final score of a node will be calculated according to the formula below:

score = uptimeScore × 0.6 + ageScore × 0.2 + versionScore × 0.1 + activeScore × 0.1

This node scoring system offers a more accurate measure of nodes' reliability, based on which they can then be categorized and ranked, making BTFS a more dependable network with higher performance.

● Reference documentation:
● BTFS official website:

Have any questions or want to engage with fellow BTFS users? Connect with us and be part of the community:
● Discord:
● Medium:
● X: